Buying marijuana under the age of 18

Buying Marijuana Under the Age of 18 – Everything You Need to Know - April 13, 2022

Medical marijuana has garnered a lot of attention in the last decade. No longer viewed as a substance of abuse, the herb is now associated with its medical and therapeutic benefits. However, since the herb is still being researched, its legal status differs across different states. This often makes one wonder, who can buy marijuana in their state, what are the limitations and the age restrictions. In this particular article, we’ll focus on the intricacies of buying marijuana under the age of 18.

Individuals Below the Age of 18 Are Eligible for Marijuana Use

To begin with, we must know whether an individual below the age of 18 can legally consume cannabis.

Yes, they can.

In most U.S. states that have legalized the use of medical marijuana for qualifying conditions, minors can consume medical marijuana.

This obviously requires the recommendation of a licensed physician, in some cases it might require the recommendation from multiple physicians.

Some states might also require its MMJ patients to register with the state authorities and receive their MMJ card before receiving the legal pardon to consume the herb.

Most importantly, a minor requires a caregiver who is above 18 or 21 years of age (depending on the state specifications) who must also be registered with the state. For instance, the state of Colorado allows a resident who is 18 years of age or more to become a caregiver to five minors. On the other hand, the state of Alaska requires the resident to be at least 21 years of age to become the caregiver of minors.

This caregiver will be responsible for administering the cannabis doses to the patient, and managing the well being of the minor.

Note: It is crucial to remember that only medically diagnosed and approved minors can consume medical marijuana to help manage their symptoms. The same is not true in the case of recreational cannabis. Consumers must be 21 or above to get legal access to adult use cannabis.

Buying Marijuana Under the Age of 18

buying marijuana under the age of 18

Minors can consume medical marijuana. We’ve already established that. All they need is a medical marijuana card from a certified doctor. Online Medical Card can help you with more information on the same. However, can a minor buy their own marijuana from licensed dispensaries?

No, they cannot.

Buying marijuana under the age of 18 is not legal in any of the U.S. states. This means that minors require their designated caregivers to purchase cannabis  from dispensaries on their behalf.

However, even when a minor is not buying their own marijuana from dispensaries, they must have a valid medical marijuana recommendation and state approved card (if the state demands). This is where you’ll have to go through your state’s medical cannabis rules and guidelines. First, to ensure whether they allow a minor to apply for a medical marijuana card and then, learning about all the specifications regarding the process.

These laws might give you information regarding the following.

  • Every state has a different set of qualifying conditions. This means that in some states, only a few medical conditions might qualify for marijuana use. Other times, the patient might be required to show proof of prior traditional treatment that did not show any promising results.
  • Since cannabis is being recommended to a minor, a higher level of monitoring might be required. In this case, your state might need you to get a recommendation from two different licensed physicians. Some might also require your recommendation to come from a pediatrician instead of a general doctor.
  • Some states might limit the treatment to CBD use for minors. In most cases, these states limit all treatments to CBD only.
  • Apart from these, both the patients and caregiver will go through identity verifications and background checks. In the case of the minor, more emphasis is on their medical records. In case of the caregiver, a dive into their background will disclose if they have any criminal records and whether they’re the residents of the state.

Places Where Minors Can Consume Cannabis

Minors require their caregivers to administer cannabis in proper doses as they are not considered responsible enough consume cannabis without adult supervision (in this case, a caregiver). And in most cases, these doses are administered at the safest place possible – home. The patient’s residence gives them the complete freedom to consume cannabis (in the presence of the caregiver) without any restrictions. However, that isn’t always the case.

If a physician recommends the use of marijuana in the middle of the day, the patient might have to consume their dose during school hours or university lectures.

In most states, there are differing laws that regulate the use of cannabis inside school and university premises. While some states completely prohibit the use of cannabis on campus, others allow caregivers to carry cannabis with them and administer the doses inside the premises.

This however does not stop other parents or faculty members from showing their disapproval or even calling child protection services in some cases. Therefore, it is crucial for parents/guardians or caregivers to take precautionary measures while administering the doses.

Here are some things to keep in mind:

  • Not every school or university will allow patients to consume doses on campus.
  • In such a case, caregivers must take the patients off-site and administer the dose.
  • Institutions that allow consumption on campus do not allow patients to store the cannabis on site.
  • These institutions require caregivers to bring the medical dose to the campus and administer the dose.
  • In most cases, these institutions have a separate area on the campus for this purpose and no other place can be used for this purpose.
  • In most cases, oils, lotions and patches are the most commonly accepted cannabis products to be used on campus.

It is crucial to remember that every state has their own laws that put different regulations on their citizens and their cannabis use. It is therefore crucial that all MMJ users, both adults and minors, go through the state specific guidelines to ensure that no laws are broken. Before buying marijuana under the age of 18, patients and their guardians must familiarize themselves with all the state specifications and then apply for an MMJ recommendation from Online Medical Card.

Online Medical Card Team

facebook twitter pinterst youtube instagram