How to Get a Rhode Island Medical Marijuana Card?
There are two aspects to getting a medical marijuana card in Rhode Island. One is the Practitioner written certification form and the other is the patient application form. We help you get the Practitioner written certification form. Once you receive that you can make your way to one of the three dispensaries in the state.
You begin by registering on our HIPAA compliant platform and filling out a basic application form. Submit the form and complete the payment for a medical evaluation.
2. Have a Medical Evaluation
In the next step, you get to have a face-to-face consultation with a medical marijuana doctor who decides if or not you require an MMJ card or not.
3. Receive Your Recommendation
Once approved, the doctor will sign your Practitioner written certification form which you can use to register with the state medical marijuana program.
4. Register With the State
Now, you can register with the State by filling an online application form . Submit the Practitioner written certification form with the application to the address – Rhode Island Center For Professional Licensing Room, 105A – 3, Capitol Hill, Providence RI 02908-5097.
Note : Medical marijuana card is issued by the state and not Online Medical Card. The state fee is paid to the state and is separate from your doctor’s consultation fee. Online Medical Card collects your doctor’s consultation fee only. To save time, find answers to all your queries related to medical marijuana card registration here.
Get Certified by A Licensed Rhode Island Medical Marijuana Doctor
Heal with the Help of Medical Marijuana
Medical marijuana has slowly but steadily proven to be an effective way to manage a large number of chronic issues. In Rhode Island, the only way to access marijuana is with the help of a medical marijuana card.
This is where we come in. We help you access a medical marijuana card in a few easy steps so that you can get your medication from a licensed medical dispensary. The entire medical marijuana program is overlooked by the Rhode Island Department of Health.
How to Become a Medical Marijuana Patient In Rhode Island?
Start by contacting a healthcare provider and then get a 420 evaluation. Once you are done with that you need to move online and apply for an identification card online. An application is considered complete only once you submit both the Practitioner Written Certification Form and the Patient Application Form.
You will be approved or denied in 14 days.
You Are Covered By Our Money Back Guarantee
Please Note: Refund will not be initiated if the request is placed after the consultation and doctor's approval.
You can verify our doctor’s license at the Medical Board of California’s website here: www.breeze.ca.gov
License: 3728, G55156
Qualifying Conditions in Rhode Island
Approved conditions in Rhode Island include
- Hepatitis C
- Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)
A chronic or debilitating disease or medical condition or its treatment that produces one or more of the following:
- Chronic pain
- Severe nausea
- Severe and persistent muscle spasms
- Agitation related to Alzheimer’s Disease
Any other medical condition or its treatment approved by the department of health, as provided for in Rhode Island’s Medical Marijuana Act.
In addition to the long list of qualifying conditions, you must also be a resident of Rhode Island and 18 years or older. For minor patients, it’s necessary to have a registered and legal caregiver who is 21 years or older.
Benefits of a Rhode Island Medical Marijuana Card
A medical marijuana card can go a long way in helping you manage your medical condition. It’s also one way to enjoy the privileges that come along with being a registered medical marijuana patient in the state of Rhode Island. Here are a few of them:
Since Rhode Island is a medical-only state, the only way to legally access marijuana in a legal manner is with the help of a Medical Marijuana card issued by a certified medical physician.
All your medication should come from a licensed dispensary that only allows patients with a legit medical marijuana card to make a purchase.
An MMJ card ensures that you not only gain access to a wide variety of cannabis products but also get ones that are properly lab-tested and ensured to be safe for medical use.
With an MMJ card, you are legally allowed to possess, transport, and consume medical marijuana products in Rhode Island. No one can question you or impose criminal charges as long as you have a valid medical card.
Medical marijuana’s medical potential often surpasses that of modern medicine. If other treatments haven’t worked for you, use your medical card to buy the herb which may be the much-needed solution for you.
Rhode Island is one of the few states that allow people carrying medical marijuana cards from other states to purchase from dispensaries in Rhode Island.
Frequently Asked Questions
We understand that you may have many questions and doubts about online medical marijuana card services. So, we have answered some of the most frequently asked questions to give you some clarity.
A medical marijuana card in Rhode Island is valid for a period of 12 months from the date of issue.
Right between 30-60 days before the date of expiration you and your doctor should get a renewal form. You will once again have to get a 420 evaluation to apply for renewal.
Even if you got your recommendation from a different clinic or doctor, you can apply for a renewal with us.
Medical patients in Rhode Island can possess
- 2.5 oz of marijuana
- 12 mature (flowering) plants
- 12immature (non-flowering) plants.
At this given time there are only three active dispensaries in the state of Rhode Island.
- Summit Medical Compassion Center – Warwick
- Greenleaf Compassionate Care Center – Portsmouth
- Thomas C. Slater Compassion Center -Providence
You can only use cannabis in a private residence or your house. Possession of less than one ounce of cannabis has been decriminalized. It is considered to be a civil violation that carries a fine of $150. If you are in possession of over an ounce it is considered to be a misdemeanor which can land you in prison for a year along with $500 fine. It is only a felony only when you are in possession of more than 1kg of cannabis.
Yes, you can grow cannabis at home in Rhode Island. The limit is capped at 12 plants and 12 seedlings. Another thing that you need to take care of is that you buy registered tags for each plant and seedling.