Table of Contents
It was in 2012 that the citizens of Massachusetts started buying cannabis with the help of a medical marijuana card. A citizen could own upto 60 days worth of marijuana supply, one that fulfilled their medical requirements and no other.
Yet, the law only came into effect with the onset of 2013. And it was towards the end of 2016 when the possession of recreational marijuana was finally legalized in the state.
Even after its legalization, getting your hands on marijuana isn’t that easy. Without complete information about what you can and cannot do with a medical marijuana card Massachusetts inside state boundaries, citizens can find themselves facing the law.
To make things easier for all, we’ve put down this guide that’ll teach you everything about an MMJ card. From its application to its benefits and limitations, we’ve covered it all.
Let’s get started.
Did You Know: The first recreational marijuana sale was made in 2018. This was two years after the legalization of the herb and marked the end of 80 years of prohibition in the state.
Applying for an MMJ card was never as easy as it is today. From offline, in person consultations to telemedicine platforms, you’ve got just enough ways to get recommended onto the state list.
The only thing that matters here is finding a legit physician who’s not only licensed to recommend marijuana use for patients but also knows what he’s doing and why.
You’ll come across plenty of hoaxes on the way which can make applying online a little tiresome. It is important to find trustworthy recommendation sites if you want to apply for an MMJ card.
Find a legit website. Fill the application form via virtual portal. Sit through an online doctor consultation. And if your application gets accepted, you’ll receive a digital copy of your recommendation letter almost instantly. Pretty simple, right?
Once you’ve received your recommendation letter, you can register with the state and get your state approved marijuana license.
You can get your recommendation and state approved card via walk in consultations too. This process, though easy, is more hasslesome than online application.
The process is rather simple. Get an MMJ recommendation letter from a physician, register with the state of Massachusetts and finally receive your medical marijuana card.
Let’s explore the process in more detail.
Medical marijuana isn’t something just any adult citizen can avail. The medical doses are restricted for use by patients of chronic and terminal conditions mentioned by the state of Massachusetts. Since every state decides its own laws regarding marijuana use, these state approved medical conditions also vary from state to state.
Anybody who’s willing to apply for an MMJ recommendation must go through the laws of their state. (We’ll get into that later in the guide)
Before you apply with the state for an MMJ card, you need to get approval from a medical practitioner. You can visit your own physician or a pro-cannabis doctor who can diagnose your medical condition and decide if you need medical cannabis or not.
Once you receive your recommendation letter from your doctor you can then take on the next step: register with your state.
Register with the State
To take the next step, patients or their legal guardians have to register under the Medical Use of Marijuana Program.
After receiving your recommendation letter from a certified doctor (first step) you’ll also receive a pin number that you need to register with the state. You’ll find instructions on the virtual portal to fill the application completely, such as,
If your application is valid you’ll receive a temporary medical card to make MMJ purchases from dispensaries. After a period of two weeks or more, you’ll be sent your original marijuana license that you’ll be required to carry with you. Both at the time of consumption or transportation.
The process is pretty simple if you know everything you need to do and carry before applying. Here is a list of all documents you’re expected to keep handy, especially in digital form when applying via an online portal.
If your doctor approves of your medical condition as one requiring cannabis support, you’ll receive a pin number along with a recommendation letter. Without either of those, you cannot register with the state.
We’ll get the obvious out of the way- the ID should not have expired or be close to its due date. The ID should also have all your current specifications like address or contact information.
There are 4 identification proofs that you can register with.
While the MA driver’s License and ID Card are proof enough that you’re a current resident of the state, you need to provide additional documents with your U.S. passport and military ID.
These could be,
When registering with the state, you’ll be required to submit or upload your most recent photograph.
Some specifications for your picture are as follows:
This picture will be used on your program ID.
Every MMJ user must remember this- your state approved card and physician’s recommendation will expire eventually.
While the license may stay valid for a few years, you need to renew your registration annually.
It is always recommended that you apply for renewal 60 days prior to the expiration.
During renewal, you’re required to use the same username and password as the ones used during registration.
Now that we’ve covered how to apply for a medical marijuana card in Massachusetts, let’s focus on who is eligible to receive an mmj card.
Every U.S. state that has legalized the use of medical marijuana has a particular list of approved medical conditions that a patient can use marijuana for. According to the state of Massachusetts, this list includes the following ailments.
As per state laws, adults above the age of 18 can apply for a medical marijuana card Massachusetts as long as their physician recommends the use of marijuana to help alleviate their symptoms.
In some cases, if a minor requires the use of medical cannabis, they can receive their recommendation and MMJ card under the guidance of an adult caregiver (guardian). (We’ll discuss that next)
In case of recreational use, however, adults must be at least 21 years of age to start using cannabis.
Yes, a minor that qualifies for one of the state approved medical conditions can apply for a medical marijuana card. The minor must receive their recommendations from two medical professionals before being eligible to receive state approval.
Every minor marijuana user must have a designated caregiver. This caregiver is responsible for purchasing marijuana doses for the minor and administering the doses until the minor reaches adulthood or does not require marijuana support anymore, whichever happens first.
Similar to medical marijuana licenses for consumers that require renewal every year, a caregiver’s license goes through a similar procedure.
A medical marijuana user in Massachusetts can travel with their weed inside state borders as long as the container is completely sealed. The patient or caregiver must carry the state approved cards whenever traveling with the stash.
A patient should, under no circumstances, sit behind the wheel after MMJ consumption.
Both recreational users and medical marijuana users are legally allowed to grow cannabis at their place of residence. However, to grow more than 6 marijuana plants, patients require permission for the same.
To grow marijuana,
Now that we’ve discussed all that you can do with an MMJ card, here are some things that cannot be covered under the legal umbrella of an MMJ card.
No matter where you are, a pub, a park or the subway, under no circumstances are you allowed to consume marijuana in a public place. Even if your place of work is cooperative towards your MMJ dependency, they are inclined to refuse you the right to administer your doses at work. The only place you can easily consume your marijuana dose is at your residence.
Driving, flying, shipping or mailing marijuana out of the state is illegal and can lead to serious consequences for the user.
As a minor who requires medical marijuana to help aid their symptoms, they need an adult guardian to purchase it from dispensaries.
Your cannabis cultivation should not be visible to others without any optical aid.
If you want to grow more than 6 cannabis plants, you must be registered with the state. Even with state approval, you cannot grow more than 60days worth of supply.
You can buy recreational marijuana in the state with a different state’s ID but the same does not apply to medical marijuana. The state does not recognize out of state MMJ cards but a visitor above the legal bar of 21 years can get access to recreational weed.
Here is a summary of everything we’ve discussed so far! All Marijuana laws that you need to remember before applying for a medical marijuana card.